Board of directors | Shareholders and investors | Aena

The Board of Directors is the company’s highest administrative and representative body. It is also a supervisory and control body that carries out its duties with unity of purpose and independently of the management, treats its shareholders equally and puts the company’s corporate interests before everything else.

As part of the company's commitment to its shareholders, the Board of Directors carries out its activities in accordance with corporate governance regulations set out, principally, in the Company's Articles of Association, the Regulations for the General Meeting of Shareholders, the Regulations for the Board of Directors and in its various Corporate Policies.

As the body that supervises and controls the company’s activities, it has the authority to establish management strategies and guidelines, to implement and see to the establishment of the appropriate information procedures for shareholders and markets in general, and to make the appropriate decisions on especially important business and financial transactions, among other things.

Besides the above, it is also the body responsible for approving Corporate Policies, including those for Corporate Governance, Sustainability, Risk Control and Management, Regulatory Compliance and Information Security.

In accordance with its Regulations, it entrusts the management team and corresponding executive bodies with the company’s day-to-day business management.

In addition, it also set up the Executive Committee, the Appointments, Remuneration and Corporate Governance Committee, the Auditing Committee and the Sustainability and Climate Action Committee.

Aena's Board of Directors is made up of 15 directors. Its composition is as follows: 7 independent directors (including the First Deputy Chairman), 6 proprietary directors (appointed by the majority shareholder, ENAIRE) and 2 executive directors (the Chairman and CEO, and the Second Deputy Chairman).

Currently, the number of female Directors represents 46.67% of the members of the Board of Directors.

Chairman and CEO

Maurici Lucena

Chairman & CEO

Vice Chairmans

Jaime Terceiro Lomba

First Vice Chairman

Javier Marín San Andrés

Executive Vice Chairman


Beatriz Alcocer Pinilla

Nominee director

María Carmen Corral Escribano

Nominee director

Irene Cano Piquero

Independent director

Mª del Coriseo González-Izquierdo Revilla

Independent director

Manuel Delacampagne Crespo

Nominee director

Ángel Faus Alcaraz

Nominee director

Leticia Iglesias Herraiz

Independent director

Amancio López Seijas

Independent director

Angélica Martínez Ortega

Nominee director

Ainhoa Morondo Quintano

Nominee director

Juan Río Cortés

Independent director

Tomás Varela Muiña

Independent director


Elena Roldán Centeno


Pablo Hernández-Lahoz Ortiz

Deputy Secretary

Published on 30 January 2024 at 17:30 h.

Logo Aena