Aerial nav.


The limits of Spanish air space and its division into Flight Information Regions

Attached files...

    The world's airspace –as the medium in which air transport is carried out– is divided into nine large air traffic control regions. One of these is Europe, EUR. This configuration was established by the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO), which subdivides them, in turn, into flight information regions.

    The boundaries of these regions do not coincide with national divisions, but are established according to the control requirements of each geographical area. They are also used to assign the identification codes to the airports and navigation aids. In the case of Spain, this delimitation does not correspond with its territorial borders, nor with its jurisdictional waters, but is the result of international agreements, according to the services to be rendered in that airspace.

    Each flight information region is vertically divided into two zones: a lower airspace, FIR, or Flight Information Region, which includes the space between the ground and flight level FL 245, and an upper space, UIR, or upper Information Region, which extends from flight level FL 245 to an unlimited altitude.

    In turn, to improve the efficiency of the existing volume of air traffic, the FIR is subdivided into different sectors: the control areas, control zones and aerodrome traffic zones.


    Aeronautical information updates:

    More innovations >
    New Window Aena eGovernment